08 April 2012

Dawn Comes Early by Margaret Brownley

Dawn Comes Early by Margaret Brownley.

This book is the first book in The Brides of Last Chance Ranch series, and I’m already looking forward to reading the next one when it comes out in January 2013.

Kate Tenney, a dime novelist whose most recent book was banned by The Watch and Ward Society in Boston, decides that a total change of scene is necessary. Answering an advertisement by Eleanor Walker, a divorced, widowed ranch owner, Kate heads into the desert of the Arizona Territory. With just four months to prove she can become a dedicated ranch owner, Kate is thrown into a life of physical labour beyond her wildest dream. Will Kate last the distance? Will she be able to sign the contract that requires her to promise never to marry? Or will the local smithy Luke Adams capture her heart? And just who is Cactus Joe?

This well written novel kept me turning the pages until I finished that last one. The characters were well developed and realistic. The plot had a depth which showed a thorough understanding of life in the late 19th Century, and has enough twists and turns to keep the reader engrossed. If you are looking for a book with deep spiritual insights and challenges, then this book is not for you, but if you enjoy seeing God working in everyday life, and quietly changing the lives of those involved, then you will enjoy it.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments with hyperlinks to other sites will not be published on this site.